Arthur Kampf
Biography

After initial art instruction by Cologne painter B. N. Salm (1879-1891), the brother of painter Eugen Kampf and father of painter Herbert Kampf studied at the Düsseldorf Art Academy with
A. Müller, E. v. Gebhardt, C. E. Forberg, J. A. Roeting, and
P. Janssen, whose master student he was beginning in 1883.

During this period in 1886, the work The final statement, influenced by Belgian painter J. Bastien-Lepage's socially critical paintings and discussed controversially in contemporary publications, brought Arthur Kampf rapid fame by reason of its size, color choice, and intensely dramatic scene (honourable mention at the Berlin Anniversary Exhibition in 1886; Small Gold Medal at the annual Munich Exhibition in 1890). In addition, Kampf dealt intensively with printmaking during his studies and, with his brother Eugene and fellow artists such as A. Frenz and O. Jernberg, was considered a reviver of lithography in Düsseldorf.

After his training, he was an assistant teacher at the Düsseldorf Art Academy from 1891 to 1893. He took over the antiquities and nature class as professor in 1894, initially with P. Janssen, and the painting class beginning in 1897. Beginning in 1887, Kampf laid the foundation for his subsequent reputation as the last German history painter of calibre with the pictorial composition of historical themes for the most part reflecting events from the wars of independence. Themes devised by him, and initially much under the stylistic influence of his instructors P. Janssen and E. v. Gebhardt, such as The Leuthen Choral (1887, destroyed), Consecration of the Volunteers (1891, Karlsruhe KH), Professor Steffens Speaks in 1813 in Favour of the Popular Uprising (1891, missing), The People's Sacrifice 1813 (1894, Leipzig Museum of Fine Arts), as well as He Defeated Them with Man and Steed and Wagon (1896, missing) illustrated German schoolbooks, were sold in large editions as postcards and wall posters, and were employed for purposes of propaganda during both World Wars.

By 1898, Kampf had undertaken several study trips to Belgium, France, Holland, Italy, and Spain whereupon by his own admission the works of Velaszquez copied there exercised a formative influence. After the 1899 takeover a master studio for history painting at the Art Academy in Berlin, which remained under his directorship until 1932, he served there from 1907 to 1910 and from 1910 to 1912 as its president. Kampf became director of the School of Fine Arts in Berlin in 1915 as A. v. Werner's successor. In 1924, he resigned from his office prior to this institution's dissolution.

After 1933, celebrated by virtue of his themes concerning German history and stylistic continuity, only sporadically interrupted by elements of art nouveau (graphic art) and Impressionism (Schulreiterin, 1907), he was, besides the Eagle Shield of the German Empire, vouchsafed inscription in the so-called "List of Immortals; (1939). This guaranteed him immunity from interference in artistic work during the Second World War.

Kampf, who committed himself primarily to themes of history and genre during his entire creative period, selected as central themes beyond this nearly every other artistic category, such as allegory, landscape, and the hunt, in his exceptionally comprehensive pictorial, drawing, and graphic oeuvre. In this connection, children's portraiture occupies a qualitatively pre-eminent role. He also tried his hand at plastic works (Bust of Fichte, 1919, Jena, university), but this artistic activity did not take up a broader space. In contrast to this, Kampf worked continually since 1913 as an illustrator of historical works, literary classics, and the like. These include R. Herzog, History of Prussia (1913) and J.W. Goethe, Faust (1925).

Besides his membership in the Association of Rhine-Westphalian Artists (honorary membership), the Society of German Watercolourists and the Association of German Illustrators, he was a member of the Society of Berlin Artists in Berlin (1900-1930). In Düsseldorf, Kampf belonged to the Malkasten Artists' Society (1887-1898, honorary member since 1947), the St. Luke’s Artist’s Club (1892-1903), the Society of Düsseldorfer Artists, and to the Free Federation of Düsseldorf Artists.

Andreas Schroyen

Excerpt from Lexicon of the Düsseldorf Painters' School, Munich 1998,
volume 2, pp. 212-216
Deutsch

Arthur Kampf
Biographie

Der Bruder des Malers Eugen Kampf und Vater des Malers Herbert Kampf studierte nach einer ersten künstlerischen. Ausbildung durch den Kölner Maler B.N. Salm 1879-1891 an der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie bei A. Müller, E.v. Gebhardt, C.E. Forberg, J.A. Roeting sowie P. Janssen, dessen Meisterschüler er ab 1883 war.

Während dieser Zeit entstand 1886, beeinflusst von sozialkritischen Gemälden des belgischen Malers J. Bastien-Lepage, das in zeitgenössischen Publikationen kontrovers diskutierte Werk Die letzte Aussage, welches Arthur Kampf auf Grund der Größe, Farbwahl und einer überaus dramatischen Szenerie schnell bekannt werden ließ (Ehrenvolle Erwähnung Berlin Jubiläums-Ausstellung 1886; Kleine Goldene Medaille Münchener Jahres-Ausstellung 1890). Daneben setzte sich Kampf während seiner Studienzeit intensiv mit der Druckgraphik auseinander und galt zusammen mit seinem Bruder Eugen sowie befreundeten Künstlern, wie A. Frenz und O. Jernberg, als Erneuerer der Lithographie in Düsseldorf.

Nach seiner Ausbildung wurde er 1891-1893 Hilfslehrer an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf und übernahm als Professor ab 1894, zunächst zusammen mit P. Janssen die Antiken- und Naturklasse, ab 1897 die Malklasse. Seit 1887 legte Kampf mit der malerischen Gestaltung historischer Themen, die zumeist Ereignisse der Freiheitskriege wiedergaben, die Grundlage für seinen späteren Ruf als einer der letzten deutschen Historienmaler von Format. Die von ihm gestalteten und zunächst stark unter dem stilistischen Einfluss seiner Lehrer P. Janssen und E. v. Gebhardt stehenden Themen wie Der Choral von Leuthen (1887, zerstört), Einsegnung von Freiwilligen (1891, Karlsruhe KH), Professor Steffens redet 1813 zu Gunsten der Volkserhebung (1891, verschollen), Volksopfer 1813 (1894, Leipzig Museum der Bildenden Künste) sowie Mit Mann und Roß und Wagen hat der Herr sie geschlagen (1896, verschollen) illustrierten deutsche Schulbücher, wurden in großen Auflagen als Postkarten bzw. Wanddrucke vertrieben und während beider Weltkriege zu propagandistischen Zwecken eingesetzt.

Bis 1898 führten Kampf mehrere Studienreisen nach Belgien, Frankreich, Holland, Italien und Spanien, wobei die dort kopierten Werke von Velaszquez nach eigenem Bekunden einen prägenden Einfluss ausübten. Nach der 1899 erfolgten Übernahme eines bis 1932 unter seiner Leitung stehenden Meisterateliers für Geschichtsmalerei an der Kunstakademie in Berlin, fungierte er dort 1907-1910 sowie 1910-1912 als deren Präsident. Als Nachfolger A. v. Werners wurde Kampf 1915 Leiter der Hochschule für die bildenden Künste in Berlin und trat 1924 vor der Auflösung dieser Institution von seinem Amt zurück.

Nach 1933 auf Grund seiner Themen zur deutschen Geschichte und der stilistischen Kontinuität, nur vereinzelt durch Elemente des Jugendstils (Graphik) und des Impressionismus (Schulreiterin, 1907) unterbrochen, gefeiert, wurde ihm neben dem Adlerschild des Deutschen Reiches die Einordnung auf der sog. "Liste der Unsterblichen" (1939) zuteil, womit ihm keinerlei Behinderung der künstlerischen Arbeit während des II. WK garantiert wurde.

Kampf, der sich während seiner gesamten Schaffenszeit in erster Linie auf die Themen Historie und Genre festlegte, thematisierte darüber hinaus in seinem äußerst umfangreichen malerischen, zeichnerischen und graphischen Oeuvre nahezu alle weiteren künstlerischen Gattungen wie Allegorie, Landschaft, Industrie, Jagd etc., wobei das Kinderportrait eine qualitativ überragende Rolle einnimmt. Daneben versuchte er sich an plastischen Werken (Fichte-Büste, 1919, Jena, Universität), jedoch nahm diese künstlerische Tätigkeit keinen breiteren Raum ein. Im Gegensatz dazu arbeitete Kampf seit 1913 kontinuierlich als Illustrator von Geschichtswerken und literarische Klassikern etc., wie R.Herzog, Preußens Geschichte (1913) und J.W.Goethe, Faust (1925).

Neben seiner Mitgliedschaft im "Verband der rheinisch-westfälischen Künstler" (Ehrenmitglied), in der "Gesellschaft deutscher Aquarellisten" und im "Verband deutscher Illustratoren" war er in Berlin Mitglied im Verein Berliner Künstler (1900-1930). In Düsseldorf gehörte Kampf dem Künstler Verein Malkasten (1887-1898, Ehrenmitglied seit 1947), dem "Künstlerklub St.Lucas" (1892-1903), dem Verein Düsseldorfer Künstler sowie der "Freien Vereinigung Düsseldorfer Künstler".

Andreas Schroyen

Auszug aus Lexikon der Düsseldorfer Malerschule, München 1998, Band 2,
S. 212-216
English